Yvonne Rainer

Born 1934 - San Francisco, CA

Yvonne Rainer was born in San Francisco in 1934. She trained as a modern dancer in New York and began to choreograph her own work in 1960. She was one of the founders of the Judson Dance Theater in 1962, a movement that proved to be a vital force in modern dance in the following decades. Between 1962 and 1975 Rainer presented her choreography throughout the U.S. and Europe.

In 2000 and 2001 Rainer returned to dance via commissions from the Baryshnikov Dance Foundation to choreograph work for the White Oak Dance Project, including a 35-minute piece called After Many a Summer Dies the Swan.

Since 1972, Rainer has completed seven feature-length films, beginning with Lives of Performers (1972) and more recently The Man Who Envied Women (1985), Privilege (1990), and MURDER and murder (1996).

Rainer has received numerous awards and fellowships for her work, including two Guggenheim Fellowships (1969, 1988), three Rockefeller Fellowships (1988, 1990, 1996), a MacArthur Fellowship (1990-95), and a Wexner Prize (1995), as well as four Honorary Doctor of Fine Arts Degrees. Yvonne Rainer: Work 1961-73 was published by Nova Scotia College of Art and Design and New York University Press in 1974; The Films of Yvonne Rainer, a collection of her film scripts, was published by Indiana University Press in 1989; and A Woman Who...: Essays, Interviews, Scripts was published by Johns Hopkins University Press in 1999.

Rainer's latest choreographic work, based on Balanchine's AGON, was presented at Dance Theater Workshop, April 2006, subsequently traveling to the Getty Museum. A memoir, Feelings are Facts: A Life, was published by MIT Press in 2006.

Also see:

Yvonne Rainer: An Interview

Available Titles by Yvonne Rainer

Titlesort icon Year Collection Action
After Many a Summer Dies the Swan: Hybrid 2002 Single Titles order video    add to wish list
Five Easy Pieces 1969 Single Titles order video    add to wish list
Trio A 1978 Single Titles order video    add to wish list
A Woman Who...: Selected Works of Yvonne Rainer 2005 Single Artist Compilations, Box Sets order video    add to wish list
Yvonne Rainer

Related Content