Linda Montano

Born -

Originally trained as a sculptor, Linda Montano began using video in the 1970s. Attempting to obliterate the distinction between art and life, Montano's artwork is starkly autobiographical and often concerned with personal and spiritual discipline. She spent two years in a convent and studied Yoga and Zen. In 1983, Montano and artist Tehching Hsieh were literally tied together for one year in a living performance. Her avowed interest lies in "learning how to live better through life-like artworks," with personal growth evolving out of shared experience, role adoption, and ritual. Exploring a wide range of subjects, from personal transformation and altered consciousness (Primal Scenes, 1980) to hypnosis and eating disorders (Anorexia Nervosa, 1980), Montano's work from the '70s and early '80s was critical in the development of video by, for, and about women. Her early work includes Mitchell's Death (1978), Handcuff with Tom Marioni (1975), and Characters Learning to Talk (1976-78).

Also see:
Linda M. Montano 1984: An Interview

Linda M. Montano 2016: An Interview

Linda M. Montano's Seven Years of Living Art

Linda M Montano: 14 Years of Living Art

Artist Collection List

Title Year Runtime Collection
Always Creative 2003 31 minutes Single Titles
Anorexia Nervosa 1981 1 hour 1 minute 30 seconds Early Video Art, Single Titles
Benares 1998 27 minutes 4 seconds Single Titles
Chakraphonics with Jackie Gleason 1998 46 minutes 12 seconds Single Titles
I Say I Am: Program 1 & 2 1998 2 hours 11 minutes 50 seconds Curated Compilations
I Say I Am: Program 2 1998 1 hour 11 minutes 45 seconds Curated Compilations
I'm Dying — My Last Performance 2015 29 seconds Single Titles
Learning to Talk 1978 45 minutes Single Titles
Living Art/Dying Art 2014 42 minutes 44 seconds Single Titles
Looking in the Mirror, I See Me — Early Women’s Video Art from the Video Data Bank Collection 2018 1 hour 12 minutes 24 seconds Compilations, Curated Compilations
Mitchell's Death 1977 22 minutes 20 seconds Early Video Art, Single Titles
My Mother Artist and Teacher 2016 13 minutes 17 seconds Single Titles
On Death and Dying 1982 22 minutes 10 seconds Early Video Art, Single Titles
Passing Through 2020 5 minutes 19 seconds New Releases, Single Titles
Primal Scenes 1980 9 minutes 52 seconds Single Titles
Seven Spiritual Lives of Linda M. Montano 1996 13 minutes 40 seconds Single Titles
Sharada, Wife of Ramakrishna 1995 23 minutes Single Titles
Surveying the First Decade: Video Art and Alternative Media in the U.S. 1968-1980 1995 16 hours 26 minutes Box Sets, Curated Compilations
Surveying the First Decade: Volume 1 1995 7 hours 25 minutes 25 seconds Box Sets, Curated Compilations
The Death Tapes 2017 2 hours 54 minutes 24 seconds Compilations, Single Artist Compilations
The Seven Stages of Intoxication 1995 33 minutes 33 seconds Single Titles